School of Physics update
16 March 2016
School of Physics update
March 2016
Back to top ^
Staff News
The School of Physics welcomes the following new staff members:
  • Dr Arunima Malik, Associate Lecturer (Integrated Sustainability Analysis)
  • Dr Elise Pogson, Medical Physics
  • James Sainsbury, IT Support Officer
Tom Gordon has been seconded to ASELL, working with A/Professor Manju Sharma for the year. We are delighted that Gabriel Nguyen, one of our own PhD students, has been appointed to the role of Science Communicator in Tom's absence.

We say farewell and offer our thanks and best wishes to the following staff:
  • Dr James Allen
  • Evan Hefer (returned to his BSc/BEd studies)
  • Dr Prabhjot Juneja (now at Illawarra Cancer Care Services)
  • Mark Leworthy (now at AINST)
Professor Alexander Argyros has been appointed an Honorary Professor to the School and will continue to supervise research students and collaborate with his colleagues.

Congratulations to Don Melrose on his retirement after a long and distinguished career, which has been recognised by the University Senate with the conferment of the title of Professor Emeritus. Don will continue his resesarch association with the School.

Congratulations to Professor Scott Croom, Professor Andrew Doherty, Professor Kevin Varvell, A/Professor Steve Flammia, A/Professor Tara Murphy and A/Professor Dennis Stello on their recent promotions.
Research and Grant Success
Future Fellowship
Congratulations to A/Professor Tara Murphy on being awarded an ARC Future Fellowship.

2015 ERA Report
In the 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) report, Physics at the University of Sydney was the only physical sciences school in Australia to receive a score in all eight categories, and achieved a top score of five in every category.

This is an outstanding achievement and is testament to the School's ongoing research success.
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Access
Local Provisions
Earlier this year all members of the School received a document describing proposed ‘local provisions’ related to diversity, equity, inclusion and access. The provisions addressed issues such as meeting times, employment targets and procedures, and committee membership. As a result of further discussion and minor revisions, a revised form of the provisions has now been formally adopted by the School and we will now move on to implementation.

These provisions are statements describing some changes in the way we operate that are aimed at helping the School towards its aim to provide an inclusive environment for all and to begin to redress the gender imbalance within the School. 

The local provisions can be found on the School website.

International Women's Day Events: Tuesday 8 March
Many thanks to Eromanga Adermann and Alice Mahoney, from the Physics Equity and Access Committee (PEAC), for organising a breakfast in the SNH foyer. 

Later in the day, the excellent work of PEAC and the School of Physics was featured in the event "Accelerating Gender Parity" in MacLaurin Hall. Many thanks to Shaghik Atakaramians, Tim Bedding, Maryanne Large, Emma Lindley and John O'Byrne for representing the School.

Equity Officers

School appointed Equity Officers act as a point of contact for staff or students who may have a query or concern about any issues relating to diversity, equity, inclusion or access in the School of Physics.

The Equity Officers are:

Boris Kuhlmey, who has particular interest in issues encountered by minorities, including LGBTIQ students and staff, and those affected by disease and disability.

Maryanne Large, with a focus on the interests of women and those from different cultural backgrounds.

Eve Teran, with interests in religious and age discrimination, and the interests of professional staff.

Although these interests have been nominated, each of the Equity Officers would welcome any enquiry from any member of the School about queries or concerns related to equity, access or diversity.
Awards and Achievements
Physicists in the News
The Sydney Morning Herald recently featured a front-page photo of three members of the School under the headline "Inside the $150m hub - the trio who want to change our world". Many congratulations to Mike Biercuk, Ben Eggleton, David Reilly, and their research teams! The two-page feature story by Marcus Strom on their research and on the capabilities of the Sydney Nanoscience Hub is terrific. Our researchers also featured on Channel 7 news.

Congratulations, also, to all those in the School who worked so hard over the past several years towards the successful design and construction of the new SNH building. This tremendous publicity is a wonderful outcome that reflects extremely positively on the University's efforts in nanoscience research.  We also thank Vivienne Reiner, the Faculty's Media and PR Adviser, in helping to get this story published.

World's Most Influential Scientific Minds
Congratulations to Professor Manfred Lenzen, who was named one of the World's Most Influential Scientific Minds by Thomson Reuters. The list is based on the number of cited research papers an academic published from 2003 to 2013. It identifies the best and most influential scholars from among the world’s estimated nine million researchers who publish upwards of two million papers each year.

Manfred was one of six University of Sydney scholars who made the 2015 list.

Editor-in-Chief of Solar Physics
Congratulations to A/Professor Mike Wheatland, who has been appointed one of two new Editors-in-Chief of Solar Physics.

Solar Physics is the principle journal for solar and solar-stellar research and the study of solar terrestrial physics.

American Physical Society: Outstanding Referees for 2016
Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Don Melrose, who has been recognised as an Outstanding Referee by the American Physical Society. The Outstanding Referee program expresses appreciation for the essential work that anonymous peer reviewers do in assessing manuscripts for publication in the Physical Review journals.

The basis for selection includes the quality, number and timeliness of their reports, without regard for membership in the APS, country of origin, or field of research. A full list of the Outstanding Referees for 2016 is available online.

Top 25 under 25

Congratulations to Cleo Loi, who recently transferred her PhD to Cambridge, for being named one of the Top 25 under 25 by Triple J.
Physics Building (A28) Level 3 Redevelopment
Stage 1 of the Physics Building refurbishment was completed by the start of semester on 29 February. All CUDOS and High Energy people temporarily located in the Sydney Nanoscience Hub and the Demountable Village near Parramatta Road have since moved back to the Physics Building. A small number of people from Redfern will also move back to Physics.

The Stage 1 project included refurbishments to Level 3 toilets as well as a new central tea room.

Stage 2 of the refurbishment project includes new fire stairs and central water pipes for air conditioning. After Stage 2 works, the remaining Redfern people will move back to the Physics Building.

The Physics project team has requested that noisy and disruptive work be undertaken out of hours. However, if there are any issues, please call Nathan
Apps on 0402 077890.

A28 Level 3 Redevelopment Working Group Members
Head of School, Professor Tim Bedding; Deputy Head of School, Professor Simon Fleming; Particle Physics, Professor Kevin Varvell; SIfA/CAASTRO, Kate Gunn and Professor Peter Tuthill; CUDOS/IPOS, Professor Martijn deSterke and Shelley Martin; Chair of Space & Infrastructure Committee, David Beech; Project Manager, Nathan Apps.
Back to top ^